Grant Overview

CLP provides Conservation Team Awards on an annual basis to support the work of early-career conservationists.

The competition for the 2021 CLP Team Awards is OPEN!

The deadline to submit applications is 23:59 GMT on 23 October 2020. All applications must be completed and submitted via the online portal.

More information on the eligibility criteria and application process can be found in the Frequently Asked Questions and Guidelines for Applicants below:

2021 CLP Future Conservationist Awards – Guidelines for Applicants

2021 CLP Follow-up and Leadership Awards – Guidelines for Applicants

Please note that CLP alumni who are applying for Continuation (Follow-up or Leadership) Awards must complete a Logical Framework using the template below and submit it by 17 September 2020 via email to or If the Logical Framework is approved, the full application must then be submitted by 23 October 2020 via the online platform.

Logical Framework Blank Template_2021


About the CLP Team Awards

Each year, CLP calls for applications to support projects in low- and middle-income countries and some high-income islands in the Caribbean and Pacific. Funding is awarded to teams of early-career conservationists to conduct scientific research, encourage and promote pro-conservation attitudes and deliver tangible results to better conserve and manage the natural world.

There are three grant levels to allow teams to scale up their initial projects. Starting with a Future Conservationist Award, teams are supported to undertake small-scale research and awareness-raising projects. Through Follow-up and Leadership awards, teams can implement larger projects over a longer period of time and deliver practical solutions to conservation issues whilst learning to command more complex decision-making, communication and leadership skills.

The Kate Stokes Memorial Award is an additional grant which is awarded annually to an exceptional team of CLP alumni.

Professional Development, Mentoring and Networking

In addition to awarding project funding, CLP invites one member of each award-winning team to our annual international training course. Here, they learn about a range of conservation management and leadership topics as well as build a network with other early-career conservationists. Our training course helps awardees deliver their CLP projects and has also been credited for furthering participants’ career progression. It is a rewarding and life-changing experience!

As part of the award, winning teams are able to access expertise from within each of our three conservation partner organisations and via our global Alumni Network, which includes past award-winners. Programme staff members are also available to advise on project implementation, including guidance required during the planning and team training stages.