Conservation Leadership Award

The Conservation Leadership Award is available to CLP project teams that have received both Future Conservationist Awards and Conservation Follow-up Awards.

The competition for the 2023 CLP Conservation Leadership Awards is now open. Grants of up to $50,000 are awarded to previous CLP Follow-Up Award grantees to undertake complex conservation projects of up to three years in length that connect previous work.

The deadline for submitting a full proposal is 10 October, 2022 (11:59 PM GMT).

A standard CLP Logical Framework (please find the template below) must be submitted to CLP by 4 September 2022. If the Logical Framework and Final Report are satisfactory, the team will be notified by 27 September 2022 and will be invited to submit a full proposal by the deadline (10 October 2022).

Logical Framework Blank Template

Applications must be submitted via the online application portal. Please see the detailed guidelines and checklist below, and our Frequently Asked Questions, to help you with your application.

CLP Continuation Award_Guidelines_2023

2023 Team Awards Checklist_Continuation Awards

Applications for Leadership Awards will only be considered once a full final report, financial report and evaluation form have been submitted for the CLP Follow-up project.

Please note: Leadership Award applicants can request help preparing their project proposal from one of our Alumni Reviewers. More information can be found here.


About the CLP Conservation Leadership Awards

The Conservation Leadership Awards involve grants of up to $50,000. This is awarded to teams leading complex conservation projects that connect previous work and typically focus on creating enduring systems to ensure conservation outcomes in the long-term (for example, forming a new, self-supporting NGO).

Award-winners should be high potential, early- to mid-career conservationists, who through training and experience are now able to build the capacity of others. Projects should be sustainable and effective, increasing the viability of threatened populations and influencing national policy.

To see previous projects that have been granted Conservation Leadership Awards, please browse our Supported Projects pages.