Future Conservationist Award

Future Conservation Awards: your first step as a conservation leader.

Entry-level awards worth <$15,000 for projects between three and 12 months in length.

The competition for the 2024 CLP Future Conservationist Awards is now open!

  1. Check your eligibility and read the guidelines
  2. Read the CLP checklist
  3. Apply online before 10th October 2023

Prospective Future Conservationist Award applicants can also find out more about the eligibility requirements by watching the video below.

Need support with your application?

You can request help drafting your project proposal or with a questions about eligibility from one of our alumni. The deadline to contact alumni reviewers is the 26th of September 2023.

CLP Alumni


About Future Conservationist Awards

Each worth $15,000, Future Conservationist Awards are granted to teams of early-career conservationists (i.e., team members have less than five years of professional conservation experience) who are conducting high-priority projects focused on protecting species listed as Data Deficient, Vulnerable, Endangered or Critically Endangered on the IUCN Red List. Projects must take place in an eligible country, be led (or co-led) by a national of one of these countries, involve at least three people and last between three to 12 months.

Read full details of eligibility.

If you have previously received a FCA Award you are eligible to apply again, as long as your project meets the following criteria:

• Your initial CLP project is successfully closed
• Your new project relates to a different species
• Your new project works on the same species but in a different site of your country.

To see previous projects that have been granted Future Conservationist Awards, please browse our Supported Projects pages.