2022 CLP Team Awards: Call for applications

July 07, 2021

CLP is delighted to invite applications to our 2022 Team Awards from early-career conservationists leading critical projects worldwide. All applications must be submitted using the online platform by 11:59pm GMT on 10 October 2021.

One of our 2021 award-winning projects focuses on the conservation of threatened migratory and resident shorebirds in the Banco dos Cajuais, Brazil © ONG Aquasis

CLP alumni applying for our continuation Follow-up or Leadership Awards must submit a Logical Framework by 8 September 2021; CLP will aim to provide feedback on these by 27th September 2021. If the Logical Framework is approved, a full application must be submitted by the final deadline (10 October, 2021).

Read on to find out more about the awards, eligibility criteria and application process.

Why apply?

Award-winning teams will receive a project grant of $15,000, $25,000 or $50,000 (depending on the award tier applied for) to support their work. Moreover, all team members will have opportunities to build connections with peers and access expert mentorship through the CLP Alumni Network (comprising approximately 2,900 past recipients around the world); our partner organisations; and the Management Team.

Individuals from winning teams are also invited to participate in our international, regional and online training courses.

Participants in CLP’s international Conservation Management & Leadership (CML) training course © Christina Imrich

Each year, the international Conservation Management & Leadership (CML) course brings together participants from around the world. Trainees are able to build lasting connections with peers and engage in training modules that equip them with essential skills and knowledge. These experiences not only allow them to implement their CLP projects and make a lasting impact, but also help advance their future careers in conservation.

One trainee from the first-ever virtual CML course held last year said: “All the [training] sessions helped me to improve myself and become more self-confident. This was my first conservation training; it was a very exciting and useful two months of my life. Every session was very informative and relevant for my future personal development as a conservationist.” ~ Sopio Kiknavelidze (team member of one of our 2020 Follow-Up Award-winning projects on velvet scoter ducks in Georgia).

About the awards

The CLP Team Awards are a competitive process through which CLP aims to identify, recognise and empower rising stars in conservation who work mainly in the developing world. Awards are granted to teams undertaking high-priority projects that involve not just research but also practical actions and community outreach to promote pro-conservation attitudes and achieve tangible, effective and long-lasting conservation solutions.

Through our online application portal, eligible applicants can apply for one of three types of award:

  1. Future Conservationist Awards (up to $15,000 for projects lasting between 3-12 months)
  2. Conservation Follow-Up Awards (up to $25,000 for projects lasting up to two years; available only to previous recipients of a Future Conservationist Award)
  3. Conservation Leadership Awards (up to $50,000 for projects lasting up to three years; available only to previous recipients of a Follow-Up Award).

Several past recipients of CLP awards have gone on to win other accolades (such as Whitley Awards, Marsh Awards and Future For Nature Awards) and many have led highly successful careers in the conservation sector, including forming their own NGOs, influencing conservation policy, discovering new species, establishing new protected areas, adding to scientific knowledge, and bringing threatened species back from the brink of extinction.

Without the intervention of a team of CLP alumni, the grey-breasted parakeet (Pyrrhura griseipectus) would still be plummeting towards extinction © Fábio Nunes

Vera Voronova, CLP alumna and CEO of the Association for the Conservation of Biodiversity of Kazakhstan (ACBK), describes how CLP kick-started her career. [My 2011 CLP Future Conservationist Award] came to me at the right moment. It was the first independent project I led and designed (with the help of my colleagues) – so it was really the first step in my career as a conservationist. Having that connection with other young conservationists helped me realise I’m not alone in my work, which really motivated me.”

Are you eligible to apply?

Applicants must propose projects that support the conservation of species listed as Data Deficient, Vulnerable, Endangered or Critically Endangered on the global IUCN Red List. Projects must take place in an eligible country, be led (or co-led) by a national of one of these countries, and involve at least three team members.

Watch the video below to find out more about the eligibility criteria for Future Conservationist Awards:

More details about eligibility and the application process can be found in our Frequently Asked Questions and Guidelines for Applicants. Our Supported Projects pages also provide information on the projects we have funded in the past.

What happens after you apply?

Your application will go through a three-stage review process. First, it will be reviewed by the CLP Management Team who will check that both the project and team meet the eligibility criteria for funding (so please make sure you carefully check the eligibility criteria and application guidelines before submitting your application).

Second, if your application is eligible, it will then be reviewed by conservation experts who will score your project proposal based on its feasibility, contribution to conservation, and capacity development of the teams.

The third stage involves a CLP Award Selection Committee meeting in March 2022, during which final decisions will be made on the award-winning projects. The winners are expected to be announced in April 2022.

We wish you the best of luck with your application!

This call for applications has been made possible thanks to support from Arcadia – a charitable fund of Lisbet Rausing and Peter Baldwin.

One of our 2021 Future Conservationist Awards is supporting a project focused on the conservation of Endangered reticulated giraffes along the Kenya-Somalia border © Owino Raymond
This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.